364 Nights to go until Valentine’s Day!

What’s your Valentine’s Day Dream?

I know what you must be thinking, “But it was just Valentine’s Day yesterday!” And you’re absolutely right. That means you have a whole year minus one night to ensure that Valentine’s Day 2013 becomes one to remember, especially if yesterday was one you want to erase from memory! This is your chance to get to work, take action, do everything in your power – and let go of what isn’t – so that your next Valentine’s Day will be just the first in a long never-ending string of keepsake moments.

Sure, this sounds like the stuff of fantasies. But I can assure you that if you follow my simple steps you will be thanking me come next year. Believe me, I’ve been there. I even broke off a relationship the day after Valentine’s Day because it was such a letdown.  It may sound very frivolous and superficial, but if a guy makes you a romantic dinner with candles and a card and then proceeds to let you know his grown daughter is coming over (when you’ve only been dating for two months and you’ve only met her briefly), you know that there are some intimacy and “into you” issues that can only go downhill from there.

So what makes me the expert that can let you in on the secret to Valentine’s Day success? Well first of all, I was you, over and over again! And, that breakup I mentioned actually was the spark that started me down the path to writing my book “Change Your Sheets, Change Your Love Life”. But most importantly, because I followed my own advice, I had the best Valentine’s Day ever. My boyfriend surprised me with red roses and romance the night before; he woke me with kisses the day of; we shared a delicious dinner out at our favorite restaurant and he lovingly (and willingly I might add) watched a girlie chick-flick at the theater – surrounded by hundreds of sweet young couples with flowers and teddy bears – just because I wanted to see it. Who could ask for more?!

Now, do you want to know my secret?

If you do, here are 3 easy steps you can take right now:

1-      Love Yourself First – I know this sounds cliché, but it really is the most important step you can take if you really desire someone in your life. Someone that loves you as much as you love yourself. This means taking care of yourself, inside and out; doing the things you love to do; going to places you love to visit; and most of all being the happy person you are meant to be no matter what your momentary circumstances might be.

2-      Take Informed Action – All this step means is that you need to align your internal desires with your external world. It’s a known fact that an idea that just stays inside your brain has no chance of ever becoming a reality. In my book I explain the simple things you can do so that your bedroom exudes the message that you are ready and willing to share your space – and your life – with a loving partner. It’s very easy if you just start to live it like it’s already here. I know a girl who placed a coaster on the nightstand because she figured that if a man was sharing her bedroom he might like to bring a glass of water with him at bedtime. It wasn’t long before that was exactly what was happening in her life.

3-      Let it Flow – Once you’ve become an expert at steps 1 and 2, and you’re completely ready to have the relationship you’ve always dreamed of, comes the easiest step of all. Just let it come to you, because it will be inevitable. This doesn’t mean to sit on your hands and wait around for the phone to ring. Listen to your inner voice, be spontaneous, do what feels natural and easy to you. Don’t force it, but also don’t fear taking the first step. Even I had to contact an old boyfriend on Facebook to see if he wanted to go out for coffee, and have been surprisingly and happily with him ever since.

“Change Your Sheets, Change Your Love Life” is available at www.amazon.com

Leave a Reply

